Shaun Wilkinson



Settled in his fourth year of mechanical engineering, Shaun Wilkinson has been a devoted member to AERO since the first day of his studies. Having a strong belief that student engineering teams offer a necessary reinforcement to practical engineering principles and skills that can’t be found in the classroom, Shaun devotes most of his time to designing and machining various mechanical systems for both clubs, and personal ventures.

Michael Giles


Chief Engineer

Michael is a second year Mechanical Engineering Student. Since joining AERO in 2013, he has been involved with the development of four competing aircraft and has become one of the team’s pilots. His interdisciplinary experience and knowledge of unmanned aerial systems gives him the ability to help integrate new solutions into the final product. Michael is passionate about remote sensing and automation and is working towards a career in aerospace.

Paul Hunter


Director of Fun

Paul is a veteran member of AERO, having served 3 years as Software Lead, and a couple more on the software and flight teams, he has a wealth of helpful info on most systems and operational procedures. As Director of Fun, Paul seeks to share that knowledge through team shenanigans, build and fly RC events, and other social events, before he departs the University for Good.

Jacques Van Donkersgoed


Director of Flight Operations

Jacques is an RC enthusiast in his spare time and has years of experience building and piloting his own planes. He has experience working in the Aerospace industry, is a private pilot, and serves as one of the Aero team's test pilots. He has been a member of the Aero team for the past 4 years.

Patrick Heaney


Mechanical Co-Lead

Patrick Heaney has been a member of AERO for two years and has a passion for the aerospace industry. He is a motivated 3rd year Mechanical Engineering Student with a minor in physics. Projects that Patrick has been involved in include leading the design and manufacturing of the Plane’s wing joint system, as well as constructing the Quadcopter’s 3D printed mounting brackets.

Hunter Arcese


Mechanical Co-Lead

Hunter is a fourth year mechanical engineering student and has been with the AERO club since 2014. He has helped build the aircraft and various camera mounts for the club. In his spare time, Hunter races with the UVic Sailing Team.

Chris Hampu


Software Lead

Chris is an upper year computer science student. Since joining AERO in 2012, Chris has worked in backend and frontend development. As a student and business owner for consulting services, Chris assigns projects and provides guidance to fellow team members, along with support for hands on experience in a variety of areas.

James Sease


Aeronautical Lead

James is a 4th year Mechanical Engineering student. He joined AERO in his first year, and has worked on a number of projects since then, most notably designing a new airframe. James is interested in the aerospace field, and intends to pursue aircraft development in the future.

Thiyaneshwaran Sivanandan


Embedded Systems Lead

Thiyan has been a member of Uvic Aero since he started his degree in engineering in 2014, He is in his 3rd year in Electrical Engineering. He is very interested in power distribution systems and is passionate about going into electrical energy systems as a career path. With his experience and drive he is determined to climb all obstacles.

Michael Dobinson


Electrical Lead

Michael is a fourth year electrical engineering student. He has worked on hardware design, integration, firmware development, and flight testing since joining AERO in 2013. Michael enjoys all aspects of electrical design and hopes to pursue a career that aligns with his talents.

Dr. Afzal Suleman


Faculty Advisor

Dr. Afzal Suleman is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. He has extensive experience in the aerospace field and is currently an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He has been advising and mentoring the UVic Aero Team since its inception at the University of Victoria in 2002.